Primary Image

Arrow debuts The Fassbinder Collection in August

Arrow Films have announced the first four DVD releases from The Fassbinder Collection for 7th August 2006. Dying at 37 of a drugs overdose in his short but prolific life, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, the "Enfant Terrible" of German cinema, wrote and starred in over 40 films. These four iconic films represent the first in a collection that will ultimately see the release of 17 of his features in Special Edition Boxed Sets including documentaries, short films and interviews with Fassbinder and his friends.

Fear Eats the Soul - A cleaner in late middle age falls for a much younger Moroccan garage mechanic, scandalising her grown-up children, her neighbours and her co-workers. A bittersweet tale of love, racism and hypocrisy in post-war Germany, this was inspired by Douglas Sirk's classic melodrama, All that Heaven Allows and in its turn, inspired Todd Haynes’ Far From Heaven.

Features include:

  • 4:3, Mono
  • 'Fassbinder in Hollywood' Documentary
  • Life Conversations: A Conversation with R.W. Fassbinder
  • Short film: The City Tramp
  • Todd Haynes Interview on 'Fear Eats the Soul'
  • Trailer
  • Notes on Film

The Merchant of Four Seasons - Considered by many to be Fassbinder's masterpiece and his first commercial success, this is a dissection of a bourgeois life masquerading as a melodrama: a former foreign legionnaire is outcast by his family when he abandons the idea of becoming an engineer and instead starts peddling fruit and veg from a cart. As he grows more successful, he is welcomed back into the fold but he remains resolutely miserable.

Features include:
  • 4:3, Mono
  • Women on Fassbinder featurette
  • Life, Love and Celluloid featurette
  • Notes on film

The Marriage of Maria Braun - Fassbinder's most famous film stars Hanna Schygulla in a smouldering performance as a young German woman whose new husband is killed on the Russian front. Desperately poor at the end of the war, she takes up with an American soldier, but tragedy strikes when her husband unexpectedly returns.

Features include:
  • 16x9, Mono
  • Fassbinder Familia -An interactive biography of Fassbinders' close entourage
  • Documentary by Florian Hopf on R.W. Fassbinder
  • Trailer
  • Fassbinder Frauen
  • Short film: The Little Chaos
  • Notes on Film

The Bitter Tears of Petra Von Kant - With intentional echoes of All About Eve, Fassbinder concocts a torrid melodrama in which successful, self-absorbed fashion designer Petra von Kant (Margit Carstensen) falls for a beautiful, scheming would-be fashion model (Hanna Schygulla).

Features include:
  • 4:3, Mono
  • End of the Commune Feature
  • Harry Baer Interview
  • Notes on Film

Shortly after the individual releases, there will be 2 Fassbinder box sets featuring all 17 films.

The first box set, RWF 1969-1972 will feature the following films:

American Soldier, The
Beware of the Holy Whore
Bitter Tears of Petra Von Kant, The
Gods of the Plague
Love is Colder Than Death
Merchant of Four Seasons, The
Niklashauser Journey
Rio des Mortes

The second box set, RWF 1973-1978 will feature the following:

Chinese Roulette
Effi Briest
Fear Eats the Soul
Fear of Fear
Fox and his Friends
Marriage of Maria Braun, The
Mother Kuster's Trip to Heaven
Satan's Brew

Both box sets are due to be released in 2007.

Category News

Latest Articles