Primary Image

Amazing Journey: The Story of The Who (R2) in November

Universal Studios Home Entertainment have announced the UK DVD release of Amazing Journey: The Story of The Who on 5th November 2007. Spanning over four decades this new feature-length film tells the story of The Who and features all-new, exclusive, never-before-seen interviews with Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey and others, rare and recently discovered concert footage, artist profiles and much, much more, all in 5.1 Surround Sound.

The special edition double disc DVD comes with a second feature film Amazing Journey: Six Quick Ones, a Collector's Edition booklet and exclusive unseen DVD Bonus content.

Amazing Journey: Six Quick Ones takes us through, in four individual pieces, the virtuoso musical abilities of each band member: Roger Daltrey; Pete Townshend; John Entwistle; and Keith Moon. Then, in “Who Art You,” the fifth constituent part of this feature, the viewer is taken into The Who’s trademark bullseye, and the Mod and Pop Art movements, as The Who’s 1960s journey to become a band as visual as they were musical is explored;

Finally, in a coup de grace, during 2003, The Who allowed legendary filmmakers, the Pennebakers into the studio to film them record the hit song “Real Good Looking Boy.” Recorded for the album Then and Now, this work was the band’s first new studio recording in over 20 years. “Who’s Back” – the sixth “Quick One” – is the intimate portrait that emerged of these artists at work.

Extras include:

  • The Scrapbook: Five Additional Insider Insights into the World of The Who:
    • Dinner with Moon
    • A Legal Matter
    • Won’t Get Fooled Again
    • Cincinnati: The Whole Story
    • Royal Albert Hall 2000
  • The High Numbers at the Railway Hotel: The earliest footage of the band known to be in existence, seen in its entirety here for the first time.

Category News

Latest Articles