Alexander's Ragtime Band in September

Fox Home Entertainment have announced the Region 1 DVD release of Alexander's Ragtime Band on their Fox Studio Classics label for 7th September 2004 with a retail price of $14.98. Tyrone Power stars in this film as a free thinking classical musician who wants the world to dance to a different beat. Set in the early 1900's this extravaganza of music, story and romance follows the highs and lows in the life of Roger Grant, a high-brow-born San Franciscan who changes his name to Alexander and conducts a band with a whole new sound - Swing! And just as Grant meets with musical successes and failures, he smolders and is occasionally scorched by Stella Kirby (Alice Faye), his lead singer. Also featuring the delightful Don Ameche as Grant's romantic competitor, a wonderfully comic Jack Haley and then newcomer Ethel Merman, this musical treasure is a perfect addition to any collection of film classics.

Features include:

  • 1.33:1 Full Screen presentation
  • English and Spanish subtitles
  • Audio commentary by Ray Faiola
  • Deleted Scenes
  • Biography: Alice Faye (45 minutes)
  • Theatrical Trailer
  • Still Gallery
  • Fox Movietone News: Sensational London Premiere of "Alexander's Ragtime Band" 4:50
  • Studio Classics Trailers: Three Coins in the Fountain and How to Steal a Million

Category News

Latest Articles