Mark Hamill AND Carrie Fisher to both feature in Star Wars Episode IX

More on Star Wars

Disney and Lucasfilm have made their first official casting announcements for Star Wars: Episode IX and Mark Hamill is set to return as Luke Skywalker, while Carrie Fisher will also feature in the film using footage originally shot with J.J.Abrams for Star Wars: The Force Awakens before she sadly passed away in December 2016.

The film is now also confirmed to see the return of Billy Dee Williams as Lando Calrissian and Anthony Daniels as C-3PO in addition to Daisy Ridley (Rey), Adam Driver (Kylo Ren / Ben Solo), John Boyega (Finn), Oscar Isaac (Poe Dameron), Lupita Nyong’o (Maz Kanata), Domhnall Gleeson (General Hux), Kelly Marie Tran (Rose Tico), Joonas Suotamo (Chewbacca), and Carrie Fisher's daughter Billie Lourd (Lt. Connix).

In addition, Naomi Ackie and Richard E. Grant have been cast in unknown roles. There hasn't been any official confirmation of previously rumoured Keri Russell as of yet.

The role of Leia Organa will once again be played by Carrie Fisher, using previously unreleased footage shot for Star Wars: The Force Awakens. “We desperately loved Carrie Fisher,” says Abrams. “Finding a truly satisfying conclusion to the Skywalker saga without her eluded us. We were never going to recast, or use a CG character. With the support and blessing from her daughter, Billie, we have found a way to honor Carrie’s legacy and role as Leia in Episode IX by using unseen footage we shot together in Episode VII.”

John Williams will score the film - his final Star Wars movie.

Star Wars: Episode IX will arrive in UK cinemas on 20th December 2019.

More on Star Wars

Last updated: 27/07/2018 21:48:15

Star Wars

Star Wars is a science fiction film series created by George Lucas. It debuted in 1977 and the first film was quickly retitled to Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope. It was followed by two sequels - The Empire Strikes Back in 1980 and Return of the Jedi in 1983. A trilogy of prequel films were launched in 1999 with The Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith. In 2015 Star Wars returned to the screens for a new trilogy under the control of Disney with The Force Awakens directed by J J Abrams.

A series of spin-offs were launched in 2016 with Gareth Edwards' Rogue One and 2017 will see the second film in the new trilogy, Rian Johnson's The Last Jedi.

Another spin-off will be released in 2018 - Solo - which tells the story of Han Solo before the original Star Wars film and 2019 will round off the third trilogy with the untitled Episode IX.

A fourth trilogy of films has been announced for release after 2020 which will be overseen by Rian Johnson and they will feature entirely new characters and an entirely separate story.

In addition, there are the TV series The Clone Wars, Star Wars Rebels and a new as yet untitled live action series due to debut some time after 2020.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Latest Articles