Steely Dan - Everything Must Go DVD Audio release

Warner Music Vision / Reprise Records have announced the simultaneous CD and DVD-Audio release of Steely Dan's latest studio album Everything Must Go for June 9th 2003. The DVD-Audio edition offers several playback modes compatible with both DVD-Video and DVD-Audio equipped players...

DVD-Audio Players will benefit from two soundtracks:

  • Advanced resolution multi-channel surround sound (96 khz/24-bit)

  • Advanced resolution stereo (96 khz/24-bit)

  • DVD-Video Players will benefit from three soundtracks:
  • Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround

  • DTS 5.1 Surround

  • Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo

  • Bonus Features for all DVD-Players:
  • The video piece 'Steely Dan Confessions'

  • Discography

  • Song lyrics

  • Photo gallery

  • Production credits

  • Here is a packshot of the DVD-Audio release that will also be available to buy in North America from June 10th.

    From the press release...

    The album marks Walter Becker and Donald Fagen's first release since 2000's critically-acclaimed album, Two Against Nature. A year later, in February 2001, the album won 4 Grammy Awards including Album of the Year, Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group (Cousin Dupree), Best Pop Vocal Album, and Best Engineered Album/Non Classical.

    Now, two years on after the release of Two Against Nature, Steely Dan's latest studio album, Everything Must Go, is released on two different audio formats. The CD version of the album is released by Reprise Records, while the DVD-Audio version is released by Warner Music Vision. This is something of a milestone release, making this the second new studio album to be simultaneously released on CD and DVD-Audio release in the UK.

    Steely Dan is no stranger to the DVD-Audio format. Warner Music Vision originally released Two Against Nature on DVD-Audio in the UK during August 2002. During January 2003, Warner released Donald Fagen's critically acclaimed solo album The Nightfly on DVD-Audio. Fagen's milestone solo effort featured DVD-A extras including song lyrics, liner notes, and a video clip of the song New Frontier.

    Produced for DVD-A by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen, Everything Must Go features both Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS 5.1 Digital Surround soundtracks in the DVD-Video zone, making it compatible with every DVD player in the world. Grammy Award winning recording engineer, Elliot Scheiner, whose previous DVD-Audio mixing and engineering credits include R.E.M.'s Reveal and Faith Hill's Cry, is responsible for the 5.1 mix on Everything Must Go. The DVD-A album includes an exclusive 13-minute short film piece entitled 'Steely Dan Confessions', which finds Becker and Fagen touring the night life of Las Vegas with 'Rita' the famous cab driver, from the hit TV series Taxicab Confessions.

    Everything Must Go took a year to record, a rather short period of time, given that Becker and Fagen have an almost- legendary reputation for state-of-the-art recording and engineering, making Steely Dan albums the best sounding albums on the planet. Donald Fagen sings lead vocals on all tracks and plays keyboards, organs, Rhodes and sythns. Walter Becker sings lead vocal on Slang Of Ages, and plays bass and guitar on all tracks. Becker's lead vocal on Slang marks the first such credit for him in Steely Dan's studio oeuvre. Stand out song titles include The Last Mall, Godwhacker and Blues Beach.

    The nucleus of the band is largely the same who originally played on 2000's Two Against Nature (Keith Carlock (drums), Ted Baker (keyboards), jazz sensation Bill Charlop, and guitarists Hugh McCracken and Jon Herington.

    Engineering were Elliot Scheiner, Dave Russell, Roger Nichols -- all of whom received Best Engineering Grammys® for Two Against Nature -- along with newcomer T.J. Doherty. Superstar tracking and mixing engineer Elliot Scheiner comments on the process, saying, "We did a few things differently -- including tracking and mixing in analog instead of digital. That contributed to giving this album a really rich and satisfying sound."

    Steely Dan enjoyed tremendous success throughout the 70s with the highly-acclaimed albums Aja,
    The Royal Scam and Katy Lied, as well as hit singles including Rikki Don't Lose That Number, Do It Again and Reeling in the Years. Having split in 1981 they reunited as Steely Dan in the early 90s, and released a live album Alive In America, and Two Against Nature, the latter being their first studio album in twenty years. Following the release of the album, they were awarded ASCAP's prestigious Founders Award and were also inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame, and as previously mentioned four Grammy Awards during February 2001.

    The Last Mall
    Things I Miss The Most
    Blues Beach
    Slang of Ages
    Green Book
    Lunch With Gina
    Everything Must Go

    We need your help

    Running a website like The Digital Fix - especially one with over 20 years of content and an active community - costs lots of money and we need your help. As advertising income for independent sites continues to contract we are looking at other ways of supporting the site hosting and paying for content.

    You can help us by using the links on The Digital Fix to buy your films, games and music and we ask that you try to avoid blocking our ads if you can. You can also help directly for just a few pennies per day via our Patreon - and you can even pay to have ads removed from the site entirely.

    Click here to find out more about our Patreon and how you can help us.

    Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

    Category News

    Latest Articles