Eureka Video bring 'The Brittas Empire' to DVD

Eureka Video

have announced the UK Region 2 DVD release of The Brittas Empire - Series One for July 21st 2003. All 6 episodes from the first series are spread over two discs and presented in their original 4:3 Aspect Ratio with English DD2.0 audio while you can expect to find the following bonus features on disc one...

  • Stills Gallery
  • Brittas Fitness Interactive Quiz
  • Royal Variety Performance Clip
  • Chris Barrie Biography
  • Trailer for Series Two

Retail for the set is £19.99.

Here are some Menu shots and further details on the show from the Press Release...

When The Brittas Empire first hit our TV screens in the early 1990s, the programme became an instant hit, running for eight unmissable series. Now you can enjoy the hilarious antics of this classic TV sitcom at your leisure when Eureka Video releases Series 1 as a double disc DVD on 21 July 2003, with 5 out of the 6 episodes on the DVD never having been released before.

The Brittas Empire centres around the disaster-prone Gordon Brittas, a character brilliantly portrayed by comic genius Chris Barrie (Red Dwarf, Lara Croft Tomb Raider). As manager of Whitbury New Town Leisure Centre, Brittas seems to have a natural talent for total chaos. Far from implementing his ideals, the staff and members of the leisure centre find themselves faced with a series of riotous mishaps.

Joining Barrie in this truly original series is a fantastic ensemble cast headed by Phillipa Haywood who plays Helen Brittas, Brittas's long suffering wife, Julia St John as Laura Lancing, the deputy manager and the brains behind the operation, Harriet Thorpe as receptionist Carole Parkinson who spends much of her time trying to conceal the fact that she has to bring her baby to work with her, Judy Flynn as Brittas' bossy secretary Julie Porter, Tim Marriott as Gavin Featherly whom Brittas does not realise is gay, Russell Porter as Tim Whistler, another gay character who, unbeknownst to Brittas, is living with Gavin, and Jill Greenacre as Linda Perkin, a helper in the centre, but one who doesn't always notice the chaos created by her boss.

The first six episodes (aired between 3 January and 14 February 1991) that make up this must-have double DVD release were not originally given titles, but are affectionately recognised as Laying the Foundations, Opening Day, Bye Bye Baby, Underwater Wedding, Stop Thief and Assassin. So don't delay, join up now to enjoy the benefits of a wonderfully therapeutic workout courtesy of Eureka Video.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News

Latest Articles