Primary Image

Broken in July

StudioCanal have announced the DVD and Blu-ray release of BROKEN, the award-winning feature debut of acclaimed theatre director Rufus Norris, from 8th July.

Winner of the British Independent Film Awards 2012 Best Film award, Broken is a powerful, captivating and heartbreaking exploration of love in all its many forms; idealised, unrequited, and, ultimately, unconditional. With some light comic touches and a brilliant central performance from newcomer Eloise Laurence, this coming of age story deals with the tumultuousness of growing up in a world where the unhappy certainties of childhood give way to a fear-filled doubt, and where a complex, broken world fills the future. Featuring a stellar support cast including 2013 BIFA Best Supporting Actor winner Rory Kinnear, Tim Roth and Cillian Murphy.

Based on Daniel Clay's acclaimed 2009 novel Broken is a story that gets to the very heart of modern social dysfunction.

The Broken soundtrack is by Electric Wave Bureau, an artists’ collective founded by musical director Mike Smith, artist Suzi Winstanley, Nelson De Freitas and musician Damon Albarn dedicated to composing and sourcing music for film, television, radio and online. The soundtrack also features an original song by Blur.

Extras will include…

• Interviews with cast and crew
• Electric Wave Bureau perform at Hackney Picturehouse TBC
• Q&A at Hackney Picturehouse TBC
• Trailer

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Latest Articles