Primary Image

Primus - Animals Should Not Act Like People DVD/CD Announced

Universal Music DVD Video have announced the UK Region 0 DVD release of Primus - Animals Should Not Act Like People for 8th December 2003. The PR explains more about this 2-disc DVD/CD package...

The original line-up of Primus, consisting of Les Claypool (bass, lead vocals), Larry LaLonde (guitar), and Tim "Herb" Alexander have joined forces to co-produce the DVD with top production company Zoltron. The disc boasts all 12 Primus promo videos, including the rarely seen Too Many Puppies clip directed by film guru Kevin Kerslake, the stop-motion animation classic Southbound Pachyderm, and the highly innovative (hold your breath) Wynona's Big Brown Beaver!

Also included are the award winning short animated film The Devil Went Down To Georgia and the out of print 1992 home video release Cheesy Home Video. The DVD boasts short documentaries on the making of Mr. Krinkle and Wynona's Big Brown Beaver, plus The Making of the Brown Album (Back In Brown), all previously unseen.

The DVD features live performances from each era of the band's career, from a 1989 college radio stint, to Woodstock '94, to latter day shows with replacement drummer Brian "Brain" Mantia. A rarities section includes pre-Ler and Tim performances from the 1980s with first guitarist Todd Huth, and drummers Jay Lane and Tim "Curveball" Wright. The DVD includes additional backstage footage, discography, a photo gallery and lots more.

The majority of today's bands are adding supplemental DVD material to their album releases to promote record sales. Primus has done the complete opposite. They've added a supplementary audio recording of brand new music to a feature-packed DVD of mind-blowing visuals. What's more, they've enlisted the creative talents of local artists who've given the total package a cutting edge, interactive DVD interface.


01. John The Fisherman
03. Jerry Was A Race Car Driver
05. My Name Is Mud
07. DMV
09. Southbound Pachyderm
11. Over The Falls
13. The Devil Went Down To Georgia
02. Too Many Puppies
04. Tommy The Cat
06. Mr. Krinkle
08. Wynona's Big Brown Beaver
10. Shake Hands With Beef
12. Lacquer Head


  • Three short documentaries on the making of "Mr Krinkle", "Wynona's Big Brown Beaver, and "the Making of The Brown Album (Back In Brown)"
  • The out of print 1992 home video "Cheesy Home Video"
  • The award-winning short animated film "The Devil Went Down To Georgia"
  • Audio commentary about the making of the videos
  • Backstage footage
  • Photo Gallery
  • Discography
  • Live performances on the DVD cover every era of the band's career
  • Rarities section

    Bonus CD
    In May 2003, the original Primus line-up of Claypool, Lalonde and Alexander got back together to in Los Angeles to write and rehearse new material. A month later, the trio recorded five new songs, all of which appear on the bonus CD.

    You can preview the DVD and CD by using the Primus Media Player and CD samples on the Official Primus Website.

    Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

    Category News
  • Latest Articles