The 'Beat' Takeshi Trilogy from Tokyo Bullet

Tokyo Bullet

have announced The 'Beat' Takeshi Trilogy box set for a November 18th 2002 release with a £29.99 retail price. This 3-disc set packages the previous Tokyo Bullet releases of Violent Cop, Boiling Point and Sonatine together at a cut down price. See the linked reviews for details on the discs.

The full press release...

In 1989, actor-director "Beat" Takeshi released VIOLENT COP, the first of a trilogy of explosive and critically acclaimed films that would reinvent the gangster film genre and make an international star of Takeshi himself. Now, Tokyo Bullet is set to release the trilogy – VIOLENT COP, BOILING POINT and SONATINE – as a special three-disc DVD boxed set.
Combining cool violence and powerful emotions to devastating effect, VIOLENT COP stars Takeshi as a renegade cop, Azuma, who becomes involved in a web of deception when he tries to save a corrupt colleague, Iwaki, who has ties to organised crime. When Iwaki is killed and Azuma's sister is kidnapped and drugged by members of the Yakuza, Azuma finds himself breaking all the rules to exact his own unconventional form of justice.

In BOILING POINT Takeshi mixes deadpan comedy and extreme violence as a psychotic former gangster and two small-time baseball players join forces to take on the Yakuza, each for their own vengeful reasons. BOILING POINT's uncompromising mixture of humour and vicious brutality would become a trademark element in Takeshi's future work.

SONATINE is a breathtaking gangster film reminiscent of Martin Scorsese's Goodfellas. Takeshi plays Murakawa, a world-weary gangster who is sent to Okinawa to settle a gang dispute between two warring factions. Apprehensive about the mission, Murakawa's suspicions are confirmed when, following the killings of several of his men, he realises he's been set up. Naturally, rather than taking things lying down, Murakawa decides to go on the offensive and initiates a spectacular, bloody showdown with his double-crossing enemies.

THE "BEAT" TAKESHI TRILOGY is released on DVD by Tokyo Bullet on 18th November 2002 and includes VIOLENT COP, BOILING POINT and SONATINE. All three films are presented in their original widescreen versions with digitally remastered English subtitles and 2.0 Dolby Digital sound. Special features include theatrical trailers, extensive talent biographies and filmographies, production stills galleries, scene selection and fully interactive moving menus.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News

Latest Articles