Mel Brooks Collection (US BD) in December

Fox Home Entertainment have announced the US Blu-ray Disc release of The Mel Brooks Collection on 15th December 2009 priced at $139.99 SRP. Best known as a creator of broad film farces and uproarious parodies, jack-of-all-trades Mel Brooks has been entertaining audiences for years with his wacky and absurdist humour. Presenting several of his films in high definition, this set includes Blazing Saddles, High Anxiety, History Of The World Part I, Robin Hood: Men In Tights, Silent Movie, Spaceballs, To Be Or Not To Be, The Twelve Chairs and Young Frankenstein.

The collection also features an exclusive book created in conjunction with Mel Brooks highlighting his life and films.

Blazing Saddles (on loan from Warner), Spaceballs and Young Frankenstein are already available separately and the same discs appear in this set. Features on all titles are outlined below…

Blazing Saddles - Specs here.

Spaceballs - Specs here.

Young Frankenstein - Specs here.

High Anxiety

  • Hitchcock and Mel: Spoofing the Master of Suspense
  • The “Am I Very, Very Nervous?” Test
    • Dr. Thorndyke’s Ink Blot Test
    • How Anxious Am I?
  • Don’t Get Anxious! The Trivia of Hitchcock - Trivia Track
  • Isolated Score Track (DTS MA)

History of the World Part 1
  • Musical Mel: Inventing “The Inquisition”
  • Making History: Mel Brooks on Creating the World
  • The Real History of the World - Trivia Track
  • Isolated Score Track (DTS MA)

Robin Hood: Men in Tights
  • Funny Men In Tights: Three Generations of Comedy
  • HBO Special: Robin Hood: Men In Tights - “The Legend Had It Coming”
  • LaserDisc Commentary by Mel Brooks
  • Isolated Score Track (DTS MA)

Silent Movie
  • Silent Laughter: The Reel Inspirations of Silent Movie
  • Speak Up! Historical Hollywood - Trivia Track

To Be Or Not To Be
  • Brooks and Bancroft: A Perfect Pair
  • How Serious Can Mel Brooks Really Get?
  • Profiles of Mel Brooks, Anne Bancroft and Charles Durning
  • To Be Or Not To Be: That Is The Trivia! - Trivia Track
  • Isolated Score Track (DTS MA)

Twelve Chairs - No extras.

Audio options are simply listed as English 5.1 DTS-HD MA, French and Spanish 5.1 Dolby Digital and English, French and Spanish subtitles (no title specific information is available).

Click to Enlarge
Click to enlarge

Click to Enlarge
Click to enlarge

Category Blu-Ray News

Latest Articles